Kat Von D Shade and Light Contour Palette

The Kat Von D Shade and Light Contour Palette has been raved about ever since it launched. I’ve seen so many people talk about how much they love it and they only use this. I always wanted to get it but the price tag always got to me. It’s $49 which isn’t bad but still a bit scary. The contour palettes I had before have all been drugstore so this is the most high end palette I had bought. I got this when Sephora had the $10 off $50 sale back in the fall. It was my birthday present to myself. Also, I waited to buy it because I was wanted to get the one with refillable pans. I wasn’t sure what I would use and like since there’s only one shade option. 

Let’s get into swatches and my review of the palette. 

The top row: the light: Lucid, Lyric, and LevitationLucid: pinkish nude- I don’t really use this shade because I’m extremely yellow toned. So the pink I’m not sure I’ll be using or how. 

Lyric: yellow beige- This shade I use a lot because of my yellow self. I sometimes use it to set my eyes. And then I use it after clean up my contour, especially if I over do it. 

Levitation: soft peach- This is another I don’t really use. I’m not sure what to use it for. Maybe for correcting? I do use orange concealer for my beard and maybe I can use it to set it. 

The bottom row: the shade: Sombre, Shadowplay, Subconscious 

Sombre: true taupe- This shade I use the least out of the contour shades because it matches my skin the most so you don’t see it much. I use this to mix in our lighten up my contour. 

Shadowplay: soft brown- This shade I use the most. You can layer these shades and build up the color. So it can get a bit too dark. I usually mix it with a little of Subconscious. 

Subconscious: deep brown- This also use the least. I tried to use it on its on but it is actually hella dark. So I definitely mix this with the other shades to make them deeper. 

My overall take of this palette is that I liked it, way more than I expected to. I’m not sure why this doesn’t come in more shade options, I feel like one more for fair skin and another for darker skin tones. Because I feel like this palette works pretty good on me I’m sure it fits a range of people. But definitely need at least two more. 

I hate the amount of kick up it has. It’s extreme. So you really have to be careful, really use a light hand, and use a light brush. Something that won’t make it worse. Because all that powder means it’s all over the place and your brush, making you have a more extreme contour than you planned. 

The smaller pans are $14 and the bigger ones are $16. Someone in reviews said to just buy another palette because if you wanted to buy the pans again, it’s $90. But, you won’t want them all at once. If you’re like me, you’re not going to use all the pans so buying a new one makes no sense. I most likely will only buy two pans so it won’t cost that much. And it’ll be a waste to buy a new palette when I’ll only use 2 out of the 6 shades. 

Here’s me using the palette:

So overall I really ended up loving this palette. She’s also coming out with a cream version of the palette. I’m not sure if get that because I’m not good with cream contours. The closest I’ve been to cream contouring is contour sticks. So I’m not sure if I’ll be buying this. I have about 5 contour palettes so I’m good on the contour palettes for right now. 

Lemme know what you guys think of this palette is you have it. And what you use some of the shades for. Will guys be getting the cream version? As always, thank you so much for reading, stay purple. 

2 thoughts on “Kat Von D Shade and Light Contour Palette

Leave a Reply

